May 23rd 2014

Frederic Rzewski in full flow

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

With a selection of three rarely recorded piano pieces, the great neglected American composer Frederic Rzewski surges back into view this spring on a new CD from the Naxos “American Classics” series.  Where has he been these past few years?

Rzewski is actually alive and well and living in Brussels, occasionally getting around Europe for recitals but generally keeping to himself. He is currently experimenting with spontaneous composition. Whatever emerges in this late phase of his remarkable career (he is 76), it is bound to be interesting. 

The new CD (Naxos  8.559760) features American pianist Robert Satterlee navigating  the Rzewski moods – from dark to dissonant to whimsical and optimistic – interpreting the shifts with unbound panache. Rzewski’s range defies categorization but I believe he would accept that John Cage, David Tudor, Christian Wolff and David Behrman left their imprint. He can also claim blue-ribbon training with three giants – Piston, Sessions and Babbitt.

This CD features some of his work from the 1990s and one piece from 2005. His opening selection, “Fantasia”, was commissioned by Aki Takahashi, the Japanese-born devotee of Cage and Morton Feldman. Rzewski explains in his program notes that he rewrote the piece ten years after initial publication “to obscure the tune, putting in lots of wrong notes and kind of stomping on and smudging everything”. The result is a refreshing if somewhat jolting journey from syncopation to lyricism to chord progressions reminiscent of Charles Ives.

Most intriguing on the disc is a set of six studies for the left hand, cleverly titled “Second hand, or Alone at Last”. As with much left-hand writing, the casual listener would never guess that only one hand is at work. To be sure, Rzewski exploits the lower register here but he keeps the pianist hopping northward throughout. Rzewski explains that he discovered the potential of the left hand when writing these short pieces. “When given the possibility of occupying the whole playing field …. (the left hand is) able to execute the most spectacular acrobatics.” 

Then without warning the CD does a jarring segue into “De Profundis”, complete with half-sobs, grunts, gasps and groans from Satterlee. (All the extramusical touches are minutely specified in the score.) This is a 1992 performance piece that combines keyboard virtuosity with spoken excerpts from an Oscar Wilde text, his 110-page “Dear Bosie” jailhouse letter to his ex-lover Alfred Lord Douglas. Rzewski, seeking a category for the composition, settled on “melodramatic oratorio”.

A 32-minute performance by Rzewski himself is an experience not to miss, easily available on YouTube:


Clearly enjoying his whimsical side, Rzewski brings Wilde’s drama and his own narration and beautiful music together. Halfway through, a Bach-like fugue emerges from the cacaphony. 

Viewing the autograph score online is also worth the trouble, if only to experience Rzewski’s neat notation and his precise instructions. Leaving nothing to chance, he mandates passages of whistling, humming, body-slapping, drumming on the keyboard lid and a succession of nonsense syllables such as “TIKITIKITIKI” and “HEEHEEHEE” and “KAKAKAKA”. On page 18, he instructs the pianist to “grunt, puff or wheeze”, as classical performers sometimes do “without being aware of it”.

Rzewski told composer Bob Gilmore in an interview last year that  “I’m really writing for other pianists. Then it’s up to them to translate the information into a form which is communicated to the listener …” The full text of the interview provides real insight into Rzewski’s current thinking.

Satterlee writes in his CD notes that De Profundis requires the pianist to “lay bare” his soul. “The sheer physicality of the combination of playing reciting and vocalizing is quite exhilarating for the performer.”

Although the text is a lament on the rigors of imprisonment and his sentence of two years of hard labor, Rzewski ends his excerpts on an upbeat. Wilde wrote:  “I have been placed in direct contact with a new spirit through man and things that has helped me beyond words … And sometimes when I am not torturing myself do really say, ‘What a beginning, what a wonderful beginning!’”



Related article:

Music I (Mostly) Hold Dear: Frederic Rzewski

by Daniel AsiaAdded 25.05.2014
Frederic Rzewski's  The People United Will Never be Defeated  is one of those pieces that seems to have popped or plopped out whole and near perfect. While now I find it just a bit longwinded, it still works in its proportions and rigorous...




 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."
Mar 13th 2020
EXTRACT: "The 88-key piano looks headed for a major transformation in the coming decades. The mechanism under the lid is based on a 130-year-old design and many specialists believe it is time to dispense with those delicate moving parts.  As innovative Australian piano builder Wayne Stuart says, “The piano has been crying out for a rethink for over a hundred years.” "