Jun 1st 2014

Ivan Ilic: A ‘sumptuous’ feast of related pieces

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

A new CD from Ivan Ilic, the Serbian-American pianist based in France, offers a most refreshing change of pace from the current crop of young keyboard speedsters and clavier hammerers. Titled The Transcendentalist (Heresy 015), this disc will bring calm to your world with what one critic has justifiably called its “sumptuous” selections.

Ilic adds a quiet, intellectual dimension to his pianism rare in today’s cut-throat classical scene. He bases his interpretations on careful research into the composer’s most intimate intentions. He spent many months searching unfamiliar repertoire for these compatible pieces. 

I can’t think of any other living pianist who would match up eight Scriabin miniatures with works of John Cage, Morton Feldman and a young New Yorker named Scott Wollschleger. Ilic found musical relationships among them that make for a glove-like fit.

Ilic approaches these small pieces with heightened sensitivity and great economy of dynamics. Half the attraction is the mingling of resonances that Ilic patiently allows to form between notes and phrases.

Scriabin provides the backbone of this grouping, with eight of the twelve compositions. Much of his delicate piano music came late in life, notably his 1914 Opus 73, from which Ilic selected the lush Guirlandes (Garlands), an exercise in contemplative colors and shifting harmonics. At four minutes duration, it is the longest of the Scriabins. The other seven, mostly Preludes, start and finish with a minute or two.

The John Cage pieces will surprise any listener who might have only surface knowledge of Cage’s range. Dream and In a Landscape are both from 1948, still early in Cage’s turbulent musical journey. As Ilic writes in his fine program notes, Cage wrote “chance music” for more than 40 years and so it is “easy to forget that he wrote beautiful lyric pieces early in his career”. These two compositions are typical of that period, demonstrating his taste for decompression. Cage had become influenced by Zen Buddhism, such composers as Erik Satie and Pierre Boulez, and the abstract expressionist painters in New York. 

Scott Wollschleger’s Music With Metaphor is the most recent work on the disc, dating from last year. Ilic says he discovered Wollschleger while browsing “Project Schott New York” (https://www.eamdc.com/), a website offering recordings and scores of recent works. Listening to Metaphor, he recalled for me, he knew ”instantly” this would fit the repertoire he was developing for The Transcendentalist. Taking Ilic’s lead, one can feel the kinship between Scriabin and Cage. Wollschleger achieves what he calls synaesthesia, the transmutation of sound into color.

But the most bewitching piece here is Morton Feldman’s Palais de Mari, representative of his compositions that “seldom rose above a whisper”, as one critic put it. An opening motif hangs quietly in the air, hinting of quiet surprises to come. What comes is a typical Feldman sound world, free-floating yet coherent. He named this composition for the mysterious Royal Palace of Mari in eastern Syria, finally excavated by archeologists in the 1930s.

Of all his voluminous writings, Feldman’s greatest contribution, Ilic writes, are in his so-called late style, a series of gently abstract chamber works “to be played so quietly as to be barely audible”. A treasure of Feldman music, prose and audio interviews can be found at http://www.cnvill.net/mfhome.htm. 

This new release benefits from the creative packaging designed by the Heresy label. Even the conceptualization of the CD was something of a collaborative effort.  Heresy founder Eric Fraad tells me he and Ilic brainstormed the idea over a cup of coffee in a Vienna café last year. Ilic described his ideas, and the concept of “The Transcendtalist” emerged as a description of the aura Ilic creates from this music.

The striking cover illustration is inspired by a Salvador Dali painting, with six busts of the original Transcendentalist Ralph Waldo Emerson replacing Dali’s Lenin on the keyboard. I asked Fraad how they settled on with such an offbeat motif. “It just popped into my head,” said Fraad.

Recalling the beginning of this project, Fraad writes in his program notes that Ilic wanted to eschew speed, virtuosity and technique – all skills that have become commonplace in the piano world. “His idea was to explore a pianistic, sonic and affective world that was intricate and reflective”. 

And indeed, Ilic succeeds in transcending the clamor of modern life with his exquisite quietude.

Excerpts from the album are available on the Heresy Sound Cloud site: 

https://soundcloud.com/heresy-records/sets/the-transcendentalist-ivan-ili




In the picture within the article: Ivan Ilic


In the picture within the article: Ivan Ilic



     

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."