Feb 12th 2015

Arturo Fuentes’ Snowstorm takes a bow in Bordeaux

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

The world premiere of Snowstorm, a 20-minute feast of orchestral colors and clashing dynamics, was brought to life in Bordeaux Wednesday night (11 February) by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, the Paris-based experimental group created by Pierre Boulez. The piece shows every promise of becoming an integral part of the avant-garde repertoire.

Composer Arturo Fuentes, a mop-haired Mexican now working in Vienna, was present at the concert in Bordeaux’s new Auditorium and climbed onstage at the end to take prolonged applause and several bows. The composition was co-dedicated to Boulez, who turns 90 next month, and to conductor Matthias Pintscher.

Fuentes says he was inspired by the 1842 Turner painting ‘Snow Storm – Steam Boat off a Harbour’s Mouth’. He captured its essence by creating a “somber and vague” mood –- “qualities I sometimes like to produce in my compositions”, he wrote in his program notes. 

The score evoked the feeling of an elemental storm through the chaotic and dissonant orchestral uproar, set against a kind of duel of the flutes throughout the development. Cluster chords, some at full-forearm – throbbed from the piano. Pintscher held it together with some muscular conducting.

I spoke to Fuentes at intermission and found him euphoric over the 20-minute performance. He pronounced himself happy with the interpretation.

One of his innovations was his decision to place the two flutes, played by Sophie Cherrier and Emmanuelle Ophèle, at opposite sides of the stage in front of other players to give listeners a feel for – and look at -- the complex and twittering flute parts. The effect was stormy by any measure. 

Fuentes told me the orchestra rehearsed the piece in Paris for two weeks. “I employed extreme dynamics, pianissimo to fortissimo and back again. The orchestra had to get it just right because this Bordeaux hall offers such perfect acoustics. Nothing is lost.”

The next performance was scheduled for Paris at the newly inaugurated Philharmonie de Paris concert hall Friday night (February 13), and other venues are in the works. 

The Fuentes piece eclipsed the other offerings in what was a marvelously varied program of orchestral, chamber and piano pieces. The hall was only half full but to all evidence the audience was predisposed to the freshness of contemporary sounds. Only a few listeners slipped away early.

The headliner of the program might have been assumed to be Arnold Schoenberg’s ‘Five Pieces for Orchestra’, composed in 1909, and indeed conductor Pintscher gave it a sensitive reading. It was one of Schoenberg’s first forays into free atonality, his courageous split with European harmonic traditions. In these brief pieces he can be heard searching for a new musical language and greater expressive power. 

Schoenberg grouped these five pieces together without any musical thread. Some last only a minute or two.  Schoenberg himself described the work as “lacking all architecture or structure”.  He said he had simply wanted to create “a succession of shimmering, uninterrupted colors, rhythms and atmospheres”.

The atmospheres, under Pintscher’s baton, ranged from moments of reflection to cello-bass thrills to energetic outbursts. As for colors, they seemed to me to be mostly browns and purples, but then I am no synesthesiast.

Pintscher opened the program with his own A Twilight’s Song’ based on an E.E. Cummings poem. The first few bars are barely audible, inviting the audience to tune up for a new sound world. The pianist spent most of the piece under the lid plucking and strumming as the South Korean soprano, Yeree Suh, traded passages with the reeds and strings. Part of her score was plain speech, part coloratura, and she converged with the strings at the end to give the piece a whispered frisson

The program also featured a fascinating four-hand piano plus soprano piece, Nacht Raüme (Nocturnal Spaces) by German composer Aribert Reiman, a somewhat minimalist work reminiscent in parts of Helmut Lachenmann’s piano works.

And the program closed with German composer Hans Werner Henze’s charming Being Beauteous for soprano, harp and four cellos. The soprano part was taken from passages of Arthur Rimbaud’s ‘Illuminations’.



Another version of this review has appeared on www.ClassicalSource.com

For Arturo Fuentes' web site, please click here.

From YouTube: Arturo Fuentes, L'Instant Donné, Dunkelkammermusik


 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."